The Department of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University (formerly known as the Department of Radio Electronics) was established in 1952. It now has three national laboratories, namely "National Key Lab of Microwave and Digital Communication", "Experimental Area of Tsinghua University of National Key Joint Lab of Integrated Optoelectronics", and "Intelligent Graphics and Image Lab of National Key Lab of Intelligent Technology and System"; It has six units, namely Institute of Information Optoelectronic Technology, Institute of Communication and Microwave Technology, Institute of Network and Human-Machine Voice Communication, Institute of High-speed Signal Processing and Network Transmission, Institute of Image Graphics and Institute of Circuits & Systems. It now has 129 faculty members, including 1 academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 49 professors and 61 associate professors; 805 doctoral and master students, and 1,048 undergraduate students.

Our department is one of the earliest teaching and scientific research units in the field of electronic science and information science and technology in China. It has long been engaged in scientific research including basic theory, applied technology and system engineering. It has undertaken and completed a large number of projects supported by the National Natural Science Foundation of China, high-tech research, technical research projects and research topics from the industrial circles, and has formed many special advantage disciplines. It has a tremendously hard research team with rigorous scientific style, reasonable team structure. It has established research bases in the fields of optoelectronics, wireless, network, terminal, integrated circuits and has some influence at home and abroad. We have close cooperation relationships with famous universities, research institutions at home and abroad and industrial circles, including undertaking research topics, establishing joint laboratories, holding academic conferences, and personnel exchanges. We have also employed many famous professors and experts at home and abroad as part-time (visiting) professors.

Our Department has two first-level disciplines:

1.Electronic Science and Technology

Second-level discipline

♦ Physical Electronics (Key discipline)

♦ Circuits and Systems (Key discipline)

♦ Electromagnetic Field and Microwave Technology

♦ Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics (Key discipline)

2.Information and Communication Engineering

Second-level discipline

♦ Communication and Information System (Key discipline)

♦ Signal and Information Processing (Key discipline)

♦ Information Network and Complex System