About EE

The Department of Electronic Engineering (the original name is Department of Radio Electronics) of Tsinghua University was established in 1952. Currently it is composed of six Research Institutes, namely, Information Optoelectronic Technology, Information System, Communication, Circuits & Systems, Microwave & Antenna, and Information Cognition & Intelligent System. Our faculty includes two academicians, 49 full professors and 61 associate professors. Meanwhile, we have 1048 undergraduate students and 805 Master and Ph. D candidates.

The Department of Electronic Engineering is one of the earliest institutions in China engaged in teaching and research in electronics and information sciences. Through continuous and concerted research in basic theory, applied technology and system engineering, integrated with plenty of projects from NSFC, National High Tech Programs and National Key Projects, solid and influential research bases were formed on laser and optics, wireless, networking, and integrated circuits, etc. Academic exchanging programs, joint laboratories and contracted projects were established and performed with renowned universities, research institutes and industries both domestic and abroad. Many outstanding scholars and scientists have been appointed as our honorary or guest professors.